PDA

View Full Version : Please critique my ATG squat, PowerClean and Bench form

ShortOne
06-10-2006, 11:26 PM
Hi guys,
I'm 6months into my training experience, and I've always worked out at home, so I don't have anyone to reference provide input.

As a result, I have to rely on other lifters on forums like these..
Here are my vids to a couple of my lifts (http://www.putfile.com/shortone)

In particular, my lifts:
- Squat PR 87.5kgs (192.5lbs) (http://media.putfile.com/Squat-PR-20060610-875kgs)
- Power Clean PR 59.5kgs(130.9lbs) (http://media.putfile.com/Power-Clean-PR-20060610-595kgs)
- Bench (not a PR. still ramping up) (http://media.putfile.com/bench-060610_44-5kgs)

louza
06-11-2006, 03:05 AM
I am by no means an expert but...make sure to sit back first with your squats. You're bending at the knees first which would most likely place undue stress on them. If you sit back first (think about going to take a dump) keeping your shins more vertical, less stress will be placed on your knees and more on your glutes/hips/hams - espcecially at the bottom of the lift.

If you're unsure about sitting back, you could try some box squats onto a low box keeping the "im squatting onto the toilet" form in mind.

matt.

RobF
06-11-2006, 07:28 AM
Jesus they took a long time to download...I would widen the grip on your bench for sure and make it more of a compound lift rather than trying to isolate the chest too much with the flared elbows. Your probably hitting the triceps more than anything else with than narrow flared elbow grip anyway. Also, I hope that was your 1st set as it looked WAY too easy!

ShortOne
06-11-2006, 06:33 PM