PDA

View Full Version : I have never touched a barbell in my life (Starting Strength)

pancakewaffles
11-15-2011, 09:45 PM
Background
Hello everyone! I wished I had discovered this place a little sooner because the amount of information here is so extensive. A couple weeks ago I made a very big decision to purchase a gym membership and to start lifting. I love the idea of man vs steel. Seeing people move objects greater than themselves has inspired me to push my own limits.

Health
I'm a senior in high school so I can't always expect 8 hours of rest. I'm also on the varsity swim team so I can't always expect a rapid recovery. My diet is poor at best. I eat whenever I want. It's usually a combination of brown rice, vegetables, and fish. Another one of my goals is to clean up my diet so I can maximize gains!

Routine
The routine I have been following is Rippetoe's Starting Strength. I'm not going to kid anyone here. I'm a beginner. My strength is very, very under average. The routine appealed to me because it was short, sweet, and simple.

Tuesday - Workout A/B
Thursday -Workout B/A
Sunday - Workout A/B

Workout A
3x5 Squat
3x5 Bench Press
1x5 Deadlift
2x8 Dips

Workout B
3x5 Squat
3x5 Press
5x3 Power Clean
2x8 Chin-ups

Starting Stats (Session #1) 11/8/2011
Weight: 128 lbs
Squat: 95 lbs
Bench: 85 lbs
Deadlift: 75 lbs
Press: 50 lbs
Power Clean: 45 lbs
Dip: BW
Chin-Up: BW

Current Stats (Session #9) 11/26/2011
Weight: 134 lbs
Squat: 130 lbs
Bench: 105 lbs
Deadlift: 130 lbs
Press: 65 lbs
Power Clean: 65 lbs
Dip: BW + 20 lbs
Chin-Up: BW + 5 lbs

Goals
Squat: 225 lbs
Bench: 205 lbs
Deadlift: 315 lbs
Press: 135 lbs
Power Clean: 135 lbs
Dip: BW + 45 lbs
Chin-Up: BW + 35 lbs

Paul D
11-15-2011, 10:17 PM