PDA

View Full Version : STFU and lift | Keeping things simple

Smack
07-17-2009, 05:07 PM
It's came to my attention that I'm just a skinny newbie who doesn't have a clue what he's doing who thought he was training "Westside". But you're not training Westside unless you're at Westside, as many people say and I have realised from looking at people's journals who do train at Westside, or have done so before.

I've pissed away 6 months worth of bench strength by being a clueless idiot. When I was on the SPBR I failed to leave my ego at the door and absolutely blasted myself on the accessory work, so much so that I rarely got all the required reps and went to failure pretty much at the end of every last set of all the lifts. This totally screwed my bench progress, and I'm not happy at myself for this.

My squat strength also didn't go up much, and my deadlift strength decreased from no longer doing frequent enough pulls.

Then when it came to the Westside stuff I was too OCD and stupid to be able to correctly address my weak points and do that lifts that I needed to do, in rep ranges that best suit me. I just don't have the training knowledge and experience to be able to go by feel; I need someone who knows what they're doing to tell me what to do and I need to be able to do it and not question it. So that's why I'm now doing Ex's routine.

I still believe in the tried and tested motto of strength = size, so my main concern is putting up bigger and bigger numbers on the main lifts, for lower reps.

Oh, and this will be my last routine change until 2011. I promise. Now time to stop thinking and start lifting.

Smack
07-17-2009, 05:11 PM
Tonight's session:

Rack deadlift 1" below knees:

396 x 3

Pretty crappy, was hoping to get two sets of five but it wasn't to be. I'll damned well get that next time, though.

Dorian rows:
176 x 6
176 x 6

Pretty hard. Will still try and up the weight next time.

Rack chins:
bodyweight x 10
bodyweight x 10