PDA

View Full Version : Box Squat With Bands


HIThopper
09-12-2008, 04:12 AM
Hey guys first time squatting with bands, does this setup look ok?

1st vid has the bands looped under dumbells but it felt like no tension at all.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfIKYDsaH3k&feature=user

2nd vid has them looped under my rack, this way had more tension but the bands were not linked straight up and down, does this matter?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HEU5GCyUpeI

Anyway any setup tips are appreciated.

Thanks.

slyfox115
09-12-2008, 07:17 AM
I always like to have the bands RIGHT underneath me. I say stick with the strapping them through the dumbells. If you need more tension just loop them twice around the dumbell. That will definately increase the tension. Thats why bands are so versatile. If you dont want any tension at the bottom, set it up like you did in the vid, if you want tensions throughout the movement, loop them twice around the dumbell. Good form too.

How much does a black band add at the top?

HIThopper
09-12-2008, 08:05 AM
Thanks sly, I'll practice my setup for the bands, sure is a different feeling squatting with bands.Its a blue band its supposed to be 120lb at the top 50lb at bottom.

Bench with bands tommorow : )

dbcb314
09-12-2008, 12:32 PM
Having them angled like that isn't good.


But, with the db's, you still want tension when you get to the box.

hmmmmmmmm... id choose teh no tension before the angled bands. Maybe use a bigger band with the db' instead? the angled band will throw your form to shit

jjh5001
09-12-2008, 12:39 PM
You can use two dumbells per side..that creates the same effect as using bands pegs. Loop the band over one of the dumbells then feed it under another dumbell and finally attach it to the bar. Do this on both sides and you should get some more tension at the bottom. I hope that makes sense.

HIThopper
09-15-2008, 11:17 PM
Thanks for the feedback fellas, I'll get a few more vids up to see if its better.

HIThopper
09-21-2008, 07:05 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0zmqwEyEko

Heres another try with bands, this felt better.

iron addict
09-21-2008, 12:43 PM
Take a 16 inch 2 x 6. Choke the band around the dumbbell. Now take up slack and insert the 2 x 6 on top of the dumbbell and take up the slack. You just added a good amount of tension in the bottom unless you are a midget. Want more tension? Use a 2 board.

IA

strength and power
09-26-2008, 02:19 AM
Setting it ups as IA has said will add a fair amount of tension. I'd focus on staying tighter, minimal band tension you can get away with being a little loose,when the tension gets crazy, being the slightest bit loose will rock your world